He Is A God of Focus

d623ea2bdab1bb4e02a12ea490573fab

Back in the day I was really focused. I was obsessed. I was positive. I was hurt, maybe, I even hurt others, if so it was unknowingly. I knew God’s promises. I sang His praises, but I found no rest until recently. Even so, the enemy would still bedevil me, take my focus off the Lord.

I was reading about getting rid of negativity on another blog. I was about to comment. The phrase popped into my head, ” He is a God of focus. ” And that is proof to me that I was on the right path no matter what deterred me, my mother’s health, my own problems. The division in the family about faith, I wasn’t budging. He alone heals.

So being single minded or on one train of thought, fixated, obsessed or seriously focused is not necessarily a bad thing. It is a positive, and I don’t mean just positive thinking. It’s a plus, a pleasant way to keep the mind of Christ stirred and renewed in us. Not What Would Jesus Do? Watch what Jesus will do for you.

There is no way to keep your sanity, avoid  depression and anger, walk in divine health, to prosper, than to keep your focus on the things of God. Jesus is a healthy obsession. You will hear people say that you can be so heavenly minded that you are no earthly good, I disagree.

Even if you think my head is in the clouds or I’ve gone of the deep end altogether, it doesn’t matter. What matters is not what anyone thinks of me but what God thinks about me. He’s pleased with me, passionate about me and He is always caring for me and looking out for me. He’s focused on me.

Many people walk through life thinking He doesn’t care about them. They could not be more wrong. He sees every sparrow. He lifts every head. And He is the healer of our brokenness.

God was not scatterbrained about creation. He didn’t throw a mix of colors into the air and hope it would turn out. The sky is not an abstract art piece. It’s perfectly placed blues, pinks, reds and golds with sunsets, puffy white clouds.

His people were perfect, not mermaids and part plant, part human. He didn’t goof  up and have fish walking and pigs flying. God is focused. And He is extraordinarily patient, He makes all things beautiful in His time. Notice the word His.

People are not as focused, loving, merciful and kind. I know I’m not, but I try to be. I have to keep my focus on Him or else fall backwards, a place I have been and do not want to go again. I am focused on forward. What ‘s ahead is so blessed, bountiful and beautiful, every good and perfect gift is from the Father.

He never changes His mind or focus. He wants the very best for His children. And gave His best, Jesus. You can focus on money, worry, what you’ll be doing tomorrow or next week, but I’ll still be focusing on Jesus.

My eyes are on the author and finisher of my faith. Hebrews 12:2 Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

