Carrying His Peace

1721b0159b7fda48ed66bc5629ac35e8   Peace Dove watercolor Christmas cards. #Christmas #watercolor

I was so desperate for Jesus to heal me, to help me. I never knew what His peace really was. It is a gift, a precious gift. One of many the Lord blesses a believer with. I had been a believer a long time and still had no peace. I don’t think it was because I chose to be disobedient, it was more of a constant oppression and the many rejections I had faced.

Of course, I knew the Word,  I knew how it applied to me. I was convinced I was doing something wrong, when, in truth, the enemy was walking off with a lot of blessings, not because I didn’t hold tight to them, or believe Jesus, but because I never knew what was against me.

I knew the Word said that if God was for me then who in the world was was going to stand in His way. Yet, there is that enemy back, sneaking in there with thoughts of unworthiness. The self deprecating sense of humor I used to laugh off the wisecracks made about me, wasn’t making me laugh it off. It was killing me.

Jesus did not see me the way others did. His thoughts are so much higher. I suppose that made me have high expectations of others, and when I did not fully understand grace, I would have held them to a higher account. I still will, but I have to remember that His mercies are new every morning. He never changes but we have to in order to be like Him.

But whether or not we receive it or recognize it, His peace is there. We carry it in us because the Holy Spirit is there, and if you have experienced being baptized in the Holy Spirit, it should be and even more and ever present peace.

It is like the joy Jesus gave us and said that no man takes it from you. It is true. No one can take Jesus from us. He will always be there, it is the enemy, the accuser, the devil, who attempts to derail God’s perfect plan for our lives.

We don’t have to let him if we recognize what he is. Fear, worry, torment, chaos and confusion. The troublemaker, the obnoxious, belligerent and angry one who keeps annoying us in hopes of us losing our joy and His peace.

I know I didn’t always recognize it but I do now. I’m standing firm in Jesus and I will not be shaken, He is my hiding place, my rock and fortress, my sun and my shield, my everlasting love, my eternal life.

Yes, Jesus is all that and so much more. I suppose I can write a blog for eternity if I have to and never sing His praises enough. Never let the wicked one tell you that as a believer in Christ, you are anything less that what He created you to be.

You are worthy, beloved, wonderfully made, God is our Father, He gave His Son freely for us so why would He not lavish love upon us. Stop carrying a cross and understand He was speaking to the disciples before the crucifixion, we are partakers of the resurrected Christ, God will know we are seated in heavenly places and be pleased with us not because of us but because of Jesus.

We can partake of His body and blood through Holy Communion. He carried a cross we could not bear. So we could carry His eternal life, His everlasting love, His joy. And most of all our hearts do not ever have to trouble us, because we carry His peace. Rebecca Jones

2 thoughts on “Carrying His Peace

  1. Love, love, love this post! Especially this quote, “God will know we are seated in heavenly places and be pleased with us not because of us but because of Jesus.” so true! Many blessings to you ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

