Got Tangles?

752f049ee62d167139adf5f07f280a54

My aunt got back from her vacation and had a cold, I watched her undo her bags with gifts for everyone, among them were a pair of seashell wind chimes. They had fallen of the seat in the car and were tangled up. She tried to undo them, thinking it was easy. And tossed it aside.

Life is like that, the ” Oh what a tangled web we weave. ” adage pops to mind. Unraveling layers of bad decisions and missed opportunities can be like that to. Especially, if you missed God’s best.

I volunteered to try. It was like trying to unbraid hair extensions, or unweave a spider web. I spent over four hours and I’m not kidding. I was frusrted putting it down and picking it up. I was ready to chop it off and tie it back but I was determined to solve this puzzle. It gave me new respect for sailors who tie knots and even those who made macrame pot holders in the 70’s.

I do like puzzles. the flat kind with pieces. I never solve crosswords. I can’t do Sudoku. I never fixed a Rubik’s cube as youngster. I never got far with those Simon games that blinked, so what was I doing?

I was talking myself into a good blog post to share about how complicated  and messy our lives get without love, real love, God’s love. Day after day, we make it harder, spin more tangles into our situations. If we listen to the enemy’s lies then we are surely bound with the snare of the fowler.

How easily trapped the little birds are in thick woven bulrushes. How easily God’s little sparrows can be entangled in a web of deception, regret or fear. I was holding seven strands and though I might need some help. Everyone backed off, not enough patience.

Well not me, I’m still at it. I used to sing wrapped up, tied up, tangle up in Jesus. That’s a whole lot better place to be. Everywhere I turn He’s there. He surrounds me protects me from the snare and enemies of my soul, gives me His fruit of the Spirit, including patience.

And the wind chimes?  I told her I thought they were supposed to be braided at the bottom, so it was not so tangled after all. Isn’t that a slick trick of the enemy to make you think your messed up worse than you are as a believer or to make you think your not messed up as all as a sinner. Rebecca Jones

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Hebrews 12:1

 

Leave a Reply

