Youth and Wisdom

1bd41016b2d9b95e68cb517e2ae50ffe                 Barbie PNG Image:

Why can’t we all be as wise when are young? Don’t you always hear women say, if only I knew then what I know now I wouldn’t have…married that guy, took that job, let my children do this or that or even run away from home, took that first drink, believed someone that everyone does it. You can fill in the blanks.

Today, I was talking with a friend online who’d had a party for her 18 yr. old granddaughter. I told her I prayed that God would bless that girl with wisdom and joy. I can imagine, if I had been a wise hearted woman at 18.  I would definitely have made better decisions. Even if I had still not had the opportunity to get into college as soon, (actually, I never got to go ) and not stayed in either the Baptist or Pentecostal churches I was in, I would have never let fear, other people’s or mine, stand in the way.

I used to worry about not being the best typist. Lots of people can type. But does everyone have a writing gift, especially one that can make you embrace the Lord, to envision Him as if He were right beside you, loving you, and by the way He is. I was still a fledgling, it was God, my Father, pushing me gently out of the nest to fly, while I clung to edge.

And even when He got me out, I was always falling and He’d swoop down to catch me. Resting, for a while, He’s sail me along again and then let me go, again and again, until I could fly alone. But then as swiftly as the winds of doubt and fear started to assail my life again, He was there, I could totally rest on Him, totally depend on Him. If I had to fly, if I was to soar, I would do it with Him, all around me.

He was beside me, behind me, around me, and in front of me. He was, and is, and is to come. He had dreams for my life that were far greater than any I would ever come up with. I waited on them, but He’d had these plans in His heart for so long and had been way ahead of me. He did it on the cross, and it was finished. I was the one faltering and though I was aware of angels, and looking back I know a couple I was unaware of, I was even more unaware of my Father’s love and mercy, His gentle grace upon grace that enveloped me, even when my wings we weak.

Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity. 1 Timothy 4:12 I knew this verse and let people walk all over me because I was sensitive. I knew some of the foolishness was just teenage angst but it hurt, and adults were no better, if I asked for help, they either could not or would not give it. Though I learned from wise men and women eventually, I still feel like that little bird out of the nest, but I have strong wings to fly on because they are His. And they are eagles wings.

This verse is one I would recommend to young people who are struggling, who have a desire to serve God. Timothy has sound advice being a young man taught by his mother and grandmother. And really, if you are 18 or 80, I can tell you that you, as a believer, are His child and He will help you to fly.

Don’t wait and look back and have regrets. Serve Jesus now while you have youth, but get wisdom. And for us older folks, He renews our youth, and we’ve already got it, if we use it.  Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

