Lead Me To The Rock

cc02ad1cfba7b95ece643b7ee23d1418

When my heart is weak, I cry out to you from the very ends of the earth. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I am. Psalm 61:2 Other translations say overwhelmed.

I like the idea of using weak here, and it can mean weak in spirit, or soul. It doesn’t have to mean there is something wrong with your heart, but that is covered too. Overwhelmed is also an especially good translation. A lot of times I feel overwhelmed, I have so much to say and can’t get it all out there.

Sometimes, I feel it’s the Lord overwhelming me. He sees me so much different than I see myself. I feel almost as if I have to run to keep up, but it is He who slows me down and calls me to rest. So when we are in a foxhole of sorts, and the slings and arrows of the enemy flying over our heads, we are on our knees or face in prayer, and come boldly before Him in grace and begin to cry out for Him. From the mire and muck of a battlefield in our mind we come to the rock that is higher, His thoughts and ways are higher.

When we are weak, He is strong, even a child’s song reflects Him in His power. When we are overwhelmed. our hearts are weak figuratively or literally, Lord, lead us to the rock that is higher than we are. It is He who holds the keys, the answers. He is the wisdom  and peace we need.

He is our anchor in a stormy port and our lighthouse. He is the Lord, saying not to fear as we have stepped out of the boats and begin to fall, He reaches for us. We must not take our eyes off Him, ever. It is not about us, it is about Him. It is all about Him, it revolves around Him.

Jesus wants to lavish you with love, not smother you. So He is the one to focus on and depend on. We need to build our foundation on Him. We need to stand on His promises. And when waves of life and winds of doctrine and problems cast a dark shadow on our hearts to weaken them, to burden them, we can hear the word of Jesus, telling us to let our hearts not be troubled.

We can be totally overwhelmed and totally free at the moment we call out to Him, when we are weak or overwhelmed, lead us to the rock that is higher. For there is rest, safety and shelter there. Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

