Wise Friends

d6f0ca0efd841722917897aa6c56e765

Proverbs 18:24 – Faithful Friends are a Rare Treasure: There are “friends” who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother. Proverbs 16:28 – Gossip Separates Best Friends: A troublemaker plants seeds of strife; gossip separates the best of friends. Proverbs 17:17 – Loyal Friends Love Through Difficult Times: A friend is always loyal, and a brother or sister is born to help in the time of need.

This is wisdom. There are friends and then there are friends. In this day and age we can  friend and unfriend with a key stroke. Get mad, they’re gone. Disagree with them, you’re gone.  There is no way I’m getting into that mess. Even if I decide to go on Facebook, it will be limited just like everything else I do or say. It is not wise to tell everyone everything. Joseph made his brothers angry with his dreams, and they chose to be jealous and throw him in a pit.

People can be cruel and angry, spiteful and vengeful. There is no need to pour kerosene on a fire. Now, the Lord called people His friends, and He meant it. He was drawing them to Him. But He also said if you loved Him you would obey Him.

I always say that if you love someone, you make their lives easier. Just like the Lord lets His beloved sleep, while He works on their prayers. Children don’t need to cause their parents worry, but we know they do. If you love them, appreciate them and tell them, call, let them know where you are. Don’t make them look for you. I used to get laughed at for calling home at seventeen. I did it at twenty four. I will do it now, I never want my mother to worry about me.

Once, I was off with a pair of relatives.  One commented, ” What if we took her home drunk? ” The other piped up, ” She wouldn’t do that. ” And she was right. I would not have been drunk, used drugs or gotten pregnant. I loved Jesus too much. I had too much respect for His sacrifice. All I ever wanted was a peaceful life, to serve the Lord and write things that would help people, He really over blessed me, if only I understood it all sooner.

So be careful about you friends. Real friends won’t enjoy seeing you throwing up, passed out or in trouble. I know I am not being judgmental or condemning, People make mistakes. They should grow up. They should learn to appreciate their lives and their Lord and never just throw them away or toss them aside.

You can be blessed if have one or two close friends. It’s alright to have fun, but is this really fun, ruining your young soul? And by the way, parents can sow Jesus into their children, if you love and nurture them as babies and toddlers, they will not forget that.Teach them early that Jesus is their friend.

And ladies, do the same. Don’t go in for gossip or rush to judgement about someone, the Lord will direct you in your paths to friendship. He is the author of faith and He will complete a good work in you and find you or even create for you another of His masterpieces that you can hang right beside, a perfect match in God’s hall of fame. Rebecca Jones

 

Leave a Reply

