The Principal Thing

2ea134426e008c6aefdaef9ea8d149df

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. Proverbs 4:7, This is NIV.

So wisdom is the principal thing. How many times have I heard that? I can’t tell you, my mother says it, a lot. It doesn’t do any good to complain, state the obvious or just start an argument.

I really get tired of judgmental and self righteous people, don’t you? I know, I used to be one. I still think there is sin and consequences, and I think people should know that but if the love of Jesus doesn’t draw people in and keep them there, fear and hell fire and lambasting won’t.

Jesus is my righteousness now, and that’s why I know I don’t need to worry or fear. It doesn’t matter what people think or say about me. I used to be caught up in being hurt  but even acknowledging that gives the enemy a door or at least the repetition. Do people value their faith so little? That’s between them and God.

Let’s Looks at some verses from Proverbs:

Acquire wisdom! Acquire understanding! Do not forget nor turn away from the words of my mouth. Proverbs 4:5

Buy truth, and do not sell it, Get wisdom and instruction and understanding. Proverbs 23:23, ( It’s free, just buy a Bible. )

How much better to get wisdom than gold! To get understanding is to be chosen rather than silver. Proverbs 16:16

Wisdom and money can get you almost anything, but only wisdom can save your life. Ecclesiastes 7:12

Wisdom strengthens a wise man more than ten rulers who are in a city.      Ecclesiastes 7:19

So basically there is a lot of wisdom in the Proverbs and it’s a good read for January or ladies groups or Bible study, I’m also looking at Gloria Copeland’s book, Hidden Treasures Abundant Life in the riches of Proverbs.

Wisdom is the principal thing, it something we all need to gain in 2017. Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

