When God Opens Doors

d27397351097a0c7f576b56cb2dc5ae4

I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name. Revelation 3:18

When I copied this verse to paste, I saw a few articles. Truthfully, I started to read a few. They were for women, and how do you know a door is from God and yes, He opens them but there still adversaries. And a humorous one about not blaming Rodgers and Hammerstein for the quote, ” When God closes a door, He opens a window. ” Or vice versa.

I decided to do my own take on it. I read one lady’s Bible study regularly, the Scripture is sound, she makes a lot of good points. But she and I do not agree on a lot of things. Have I commented. Yes, politely, because there were people who needed to hear another point of view. This door verse for instance, it is talking about the church of Philadelphia.  There are those who may say that all it’s for.

But while I realize, certain Scriptures apply to certain things and that is that. There are others that we can borrow , not hijack or take out of context, and apply them to our situations. So how do we know if He’s opening a door? First of all, we need wisdom, and we can ask for it. We can pray about it, even fast. We can ask Him for a ” rhema ” word.

Now, a lot of people will have words for you. So be careful, this must be someone you can confide in and trust. A word from God can be, ” Someone is being healed of cancer. ” A “rhema ” word would be more like. ” Someone name Mary is being healed of cancer, she’s been told there’s no hope. You’re reading your will, wearing bright red pajamas. ” See the difference. And you will have peace. You will.

I had someone who’d had a bad dream, ask if I thought his son should go on a trip. I immediately told him to let him go and I’d pray for him. I’m big on angelic protection and divine intervention. He went, it was fine. Just a foolish dream or a fear from the enemy. Had the Holy Spirit nudged me, the response would have been different.

Just the other day, I had a girl ask me about someone wanting to contact her on the internet. She felt uneasy about it. She asked me what to do. I told her if she felt creepy about it, don’t do it. She was relieved, and followed that gut feeling which is the Lord.

The Lord is never wrong. He will cover our mistakes. We have to learn to discern and to use our spiritual gifts. We  must never live in fear or panic at everything. So, the doors, if you pray and have peace, the Lord has already given you a green light. If your not sure, you can go ahead praying, if you want me to have this job it’s mine, if it’s wrong for me, I won’t get it. Use your instincts, but know the Lord is willing to meet you at your faith level.

I find that if I try to do something, even force it or set a date. It doesn’t happen. I can’t limit Him or box Him in, I do have to trust in His provision. It’s not your job or the bank, it’s Him. If I rest, things work better, lately, it saved another life, got a good therapist involved in a situation, helped make wise decisions, both large and small prayers or suggestions, and that’s not even for me.

I know when He opens the doors, I can go through with Him as my confidence. Are there going to be adversaries? Nothing He hasn’t already defeated and He and I can’t handle. And He gets the glory. Don’t worry about doors and windows, and whether opportunity knocks or if the windows of heaven are open. It is very possible to live under an open heaven and Jesus is our Ark, we are saved from storms and floods, just step into His boat and close that door and open the window up top and watch the doves, breath the fresh Holy Spirit air. Rebecca Jones

*logos and rhema are both translated word, a word of knowledge is from the Holy Spirit, it can be a generality, a rhema word is also translated utterance, the Holy Spirit speaks this and can be more precise.

Leave a Reply

