The Advent Names of Jesus

c8faef1d81d135c73666f5a426842f81

Isn’t  He wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, isn’t Jesus my Lord wonderful? Yes, He is! It is a cute children’s song. I sing it all the time. I have also been reading a blog and studying  about seeking His names. He is the name of God all rolled up into one. God has so many names. The Old Testament reveals Him as Father but He is Adonai, Yahweh, El Shaddai, and El Roi , Jehovah, Jehovah Nissi, and Jehovah Jireh, just to name a few.

If you want to check out my Pinterest board, Hebraic Studies, I have a list and also other interesting studies. Jesus has many names also, King of Kings, Lord of Lords. He is even know as the Angel of the Lord in the Old Testament. He is the bread of life, the living water, manna from heaven, a lamb, a lion.

These are the Advent names given as a prophecy of His birth from Isaiah. He is Wonderful. When Manoah’s wife, her name is not in the Bible but tradition has it being Hazeleponi or Zeleponi. When He appears as the Angel of the Lord to her, she asks His name. He tells her secret or wonderful. This is why I believe this is Jesus.

Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Jesus was doing mighty works, mighty describes perfectly His power. Usually, the Holy Spirit is called Counselor but Jesus was and He had the Holy Spirit without measure. So the Holy Spirit, the very Spirit of God was on Him, in Him. He was counseled by God and was God in human form.

Everlasting Father, Jesus and the Father were one.  Echad, pronounced e-hod, means one in Hebrew. I must reiterate the emphasis of studying John 15. The Holy Spirit is God, the third member of the Trinity. All three are God. The Holy Spirit repeats only what He hears from Jesus, God placed everything under Jesus. He is the name above all names. He does the same with us, if we are believers. The experience can be more if you ask for the baptism of the Holy Spirit and gifts, evidenced by speaking in tongues. If people tell you that is not true, Paul asked believers if they had the Holy Spirit. They had not heard of Him. They replied they were baptized with John’s baptism. Two different experiences. It is good to have them both at salvation, but many are not taught that. We do learn discernment and to trust the Holy Spirit as we grow. We will know His voice.

And my favorite name of all, the Prince of Peace. It was joy to write Pursuing the Prince of Peace series in October 2015. I really sought Him and learned about His rest, my topic this year. What a precious gift peace is. No matter what goes on around you, and that can be a lot. You know He is there in control. Controlling yourself is up to you, but if you yield or submit to God, you will allow the Holy Spirit to be in control. e does not make you a puppet, and you are not a slave, yet Paul used the term as he surrendered to Him.

You do not know what real peace is until you come to this point in your life, don’t wait. He has saved me from the pits. I see His hand in my life. I praise Him for being my Prince of Peace. Oh, He is Wonderful, the Prince of Peace is glorious, ever present as I look to Him. I must focus on Him to keep my mind there, means He keeps me in His perfect peace. So my mind was and is stayed on Him.

You can call upon Him as the name you need, and if you can interpret tongues, someone else’s or your own, sometimes He will tell you the name to call on. And let’s not forget Emmanuel, God is with us. Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

