Rest In His Stillness

b49ee3a5d7316f6044f5fecaf3d2aaa1

Twice in one day I heard the phrase, holy stillness. That’s not a coincidence. It’s Jesus. He doubles things He wants us to know. Verily, Verily.  Even the woman with the issue of blood had had that twelve years, but then Jairus’ daughter was also twelve.

The Bible repeats things, line upon line, precept upon precept. He always wants His words confirmed in the mouths of two or three witnesses. The New Testament often quotes the Old, Jesus, Himself did.

I know how tiresome it is to hear thing repeated, like prattling children. ” Are we there yet? ” And I counseled someone the other day about feeling depressed, another lady had said she got tired of people throwing Scripture at her as though she couldn’t read, she wasn’t rude. I understood and told her so.

There have been times I hated hearing ministers. I knew the verses. It was always like there was something wrong with you and you should know better. I hated seeing people happy when I was sad, couples together and me alone.

I hate repeition too. Laundry, load after load. Dishes to the point of using paper platesas much as possible. Hearing the same old stories over and over, do people only remember what I was like at seven? Or the day I was born? It appears they haven’t been paying attention.

But I have to tell you the truth, I love the same old movies. The same songs, the same poems, and especially, the same Lord. He was the best gift I ever received and I will not deny that nor neglect Him as I feel I may have.

If He tell me over and over in His Word how much he love me. I want to read it. I want to hear the Holy Spirit whisper His love and preace. I need to hear grace upon grace. Grace and peace multiplied to me.

I need to hear the Lord’s sacrifice again and again. I need to hear Jesus call to me, draw me to the throne of grace. I need to know He sits on the Mercy Seat. I need to knw He answers prayers. I need to know His gentleness and I need to know He never leaves me or forsakes me.

I feel like I have walked through hell itself at times. But Jesus walked with me to get me through it. And if I ‘d been a little more  trusting I wouldn’t have been there as long. My wilderness days are over in Jesus name. Rest, rest. Holy stillness. Holy stillness. I’m repeating myself again. Are you with me ? Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

