Because I Know His Name

fb5c357aca118ec5d8afbdd9ab2b6cdd

I used  to think that the verse from Psalm 91 meant that because He knew my name He would deliver me. But now after years of Bible study I know it’s the other way around. He wants to satisfy me, satisfy my soul and give me a long life, all because I know His beautiful name, Jesus, the name above all names.

I call on Him first, always. I have used His name for yeats. Always to be delivered and a lot of times I didn’t know it. the oppression I felt was so high, because like Psalm 91 said, He set me on high. And did He ever!

You can count on Jesus to say what He means and mean what He says. If He says don’t worry, fear not! For He has not given us a Spirit of fear. Oh Lord, I wish I could have held on to my Spirit of power and love and sound mind. I spent way too much time being tormented by thoughts, fears and worries. Always, I called on Him, always, I believed Him. Always, I pleaded the blood. Sometimes, though, I was lost, not letting my soul prosper, not that I was not saved, just that I wasn’t letting His love get through to me.

All the while, I knew His precious name. In Song of Solomon 1:3, the virgins, representing the church, love His name, which is like ointment or perfume poured forth when spoken or sung out loud. When they called upon His Name, His fragrance was released and the anointing was poured forth. A fresh scent surrounded them, enveloping them.

1 John 2:27 says that we have an anointing from Him. So we are free to use His name, and we walk with Him and talk with Him, we are abiding in His prescence, His love and we can ask anything in that name and He will do it.

But the devil will try to steal, kill, and destroy. So don’t let Him. Don’t listen to lies and accusations, wash your soul in the cleansing blood of Jesus. Hear His melodic name over and over during your day, pray in the Spirit, listen to worship music.

Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus. Oh, for grace to love Him more! But He wants to love me, and I’m letting Him, and no trap will befall me, I love Him and I know His name. Rebecca Jones

 

Leave a Reply

