Believers and Receivers

76e10bda98dc7481958a479726027ad1

I had a little sign with Mark 11:23 hanging on my wall for years, when I moved, it got lost in the shuffle. I realized how long I had had the sign, how long I had believed God for things. Sometimes the right way, sometimes the wrong one. How I had things to work out miraculously that could have been disasterous and how faithful God has been to me even though I failed miserably. I guess we all feel that way.

I thought I needed giant faith to move mountains but all I needed was Jesus, He was the real mover. And boy, has He moved mountains for me. I really for the first time, how I had misinterpreted that verse to make me a woman of great faith, when all I was really was a child of God, deeply loved, with a Jesus of great faith and power. I wasn’t glorifing myself, but maybe, I wasn’t glorifing Him, either.

Let’s review Mark 11:23, This is King James, but many say, ” I tell you the truth…” For verily I say unto you, That whosoever shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; and shall not doubt in his heart, but shall believe that those things which he saith shall come to pass; he shall have whatsoever he saith.

Notice that we are to speak to our mountains, circumstances or problems and not doubt in our heart. I spoke to mine a lot, I had to. I just stirred up the enemy. I faced a lot of problems. My faith grew and so did problems.  I knew I didn’t doubt Jesus, more or less myself. Jesus had faith in me, though. Indeed, I let the enemy get the better of me when I lacked knowledge and sometimes wisdom.  I was told you had to say things three times as much as the negative. I don’t think that I did that, but I don’t know if that is accurate or not.

I know that I tried to speak to things, tried to command healing into me. But Jesus had already done the work on the cross, it was up to me to believe and receive. But over the years, I have found that love is key and it is important not to bow to the enemies fears and lies, he is the accuser and a liar from the beginning, the father of lies.

It is important to speak and agree with God’s Word, pray and claim His promises, but very important to love and be loved, to know who you are in Christ, what authority you have.  For years, I heard name it and claim it, and blab it and grab it. I heard all arguments, power of positive thinking and if you tell  yourself enough it’ll happen. All the jabs and disparaging comments.

Some people are content to believe they are saved and going to heaven. I want to be the person who knows salvation is healing, deliverance, gifts of the Spirit, protection, grace, wisdom and so much more. I know the beauty of the sacrifice of Jesus and the importance of it all.  I want to be a God pleaser, not a people please, that never works because, the old adage is true about pleasing all the people all the time. God loves them, but searches out those who will receive His love.  Let’s be both, believers and receivers. Rebecca Jones

 

Leave a Reply

