My Father’s Throne

8a95aa3100ada2a7954f4d7051bac4b9

There is a line from the old gospel song Sweet Hour of Prayer. I remember it from the hymnal, it reads that the sweet hour of prayer calls me from a world of care and bids me at my Father’s throne, make all my wants and wishes known.

So maybe the old songs were good after all. I liked some of them, some were depressing and others would just make you cry. That’s why I liked contemporary gospel, and when that exploded into rock and other types of music, I liked a few, but mostly I liked peaceful, prayerful worship, and an up beat and joyful noise that is lively but not frantic or hysterical. Sometimes, it  is just the people’s way of worship or how they react to it. But nothing is better than peaceful praise, I have even found that listening to classical or just piano music.

It bids me at my Father’s throne, to make all my wants and wishes known.  All my wants?  I have heard time and time again that you don’t always get what you want. God actually promises better than that, exceedingly and abundantly what you can ask or think. He knows if you love Him or not or have faith or not. His blessing makes you rich and adds no sorrow to it.

He is our Shepherd and we shall not want. Sure, He supplies our needs, but can overdo, over bless, over favor and He did by sending us Jesus, His beloved Son, who overpaid a debt we could begin to pay.   So the next time we are in the sweet hour of prayer, and our Father is bidding us toward His throne, let’s be bold and make our wants and wishes known.

I know what I would ask for Father’s Day, do you?  The best present we could give God is ourselves and have the faith to declare that His Word is true. If grace is a person, named Jesus. He and the Father are one.  the Father, Son and Holy Spirit are three in one.  So let’s ask the Holy Spirit to help us pray as we should what we don’t know how and let our lives reflect the love of the Father, who is so amazing in His grace, that He adopts us, orphan spirits and calls us sons and daughters, He is our Abba, our Papa.

As we spend Father’s Day  remembering earthly ones or giving ties and cologne. Let’s also spend a sweet hour of prayer with our Heavenly Father and bless His name. Rebecca Jones

http://biblehub.com/ephesians/3-20.htm

http://biblehub.com/proverbs/10-22.htm

http://biblehub.com/psalms/23-1.htm

Leave a Reply

