When Healing Hurts

peacepic

I woke up this morning in a lot of pain, I have had a lot of pain my whole life. Yet, I know according to Isaiah 53, that Jesus Himself bore it. Like the bent over woman, I was prayed for and that spirit of infirmity was gone, and I started to heal.

The more I learned, the more I grew in faith. The more attacks came. Yet, I was healed.God calls things to be not, as though they were. He gives life to the dead.  Faith and intimacy with God is personal. So a profession of faith is not always a good idea when people do not understand. Believers who do and know the love of Christ and stand with you.  Still, have a few close confidants is the ideal.

Like Joseph, I spouted my plans and dreams, mine were good but God’s were better. He can and will do far beyond what we can ask or think. If you laugh at something, you might end up like Sarah, not having a child necessarily, but something you think is impossible.

Not many people can look at you and see what God does, He sees how every word or deed and action, our own or others have affected us. Sometimes, when you have a major illness or physical problem, healing, itself can be painful. Sometimes our broken hearts or bodies are just unable to bear pain, emotional or physical.  Jesus is a patient High Priest, acquainted with grief and sorrow and He definitely understands pain. He knows just how to heal.

I thought I wasn’t getting healed because I was doing something wrong, nothing could be farther from the truth. I was disqualifying myself. 2 Corinthians 13:6, I was forgiven. I wasn’t being punished. I knew and obeyed God’s Word but did not know how the Holy Spirit worked back then.

I would encourage anyone to work with Him where healing is concerned, study spiritual gifts. He is still Jehovah Rapha. When you see how things have affected you , it might actually be a shock to find out what really caused an illness. If you have not worked out something, harbor bitterness or unforgiveness, or carry grief or guilt, it can be a sources of pain and even depression or sleeplessness.

God created you, He knows you. He knows you best and what’s best for you. Let him heal you, let Him love you. Let Him heal the deepest wounds. I am hearing people talk about things that happened years ago, divorce, deaths, miscarriages. Time does not heal all wounds but Jesus will. Rebecca Jones

 

Leave a Reply

