Who Am I?

e6ac1c542fae09d221ead512a18d8419

Who do men say that I am? Jesus posed that question and Peter got it right. Not by himself though, God revealed it to him. Here’s the guy who walked on water and denied Jesus, the one whom the devil was going to sift, and he’s got the answer. Jesus also has to rebuke him for not wanting to allow the crucifixion. While some said, He was John the Baptist, Elijah, Jeremiah or one of the other prophets, and some probably didn’t have a clue, God was working on Peter.

Remember, some people thought Jesus was crazy, just the carpenter’s son. Others accused Him falsely of casting out devils by Beelzebub. We are not greater that the master as believers, some people will think you’re crazy, the deeper your faith, you might be challenged as being on opposite side. The devil accuses day and night and will use anyone to do it, even well meaning Christians.

Women like to talk, socialize, decorate, do lunch, have dinner parties and such, so if you don’t and you’re a woman, is something wrong with you? Of course not. Maybe being family oriented is enough. And then perhaps, some people are gifted and could use a little encouragement. I think, sometimes, we can push our own personalities onto others, without realizing it. If someone gets involved, it doesn’t mean they have to be involved in everything. Between work and family, church, housekeeping and errands, schedules can become overly demanding.

You don’t have to attend every family gathering or social gathering, and you can’t possibly attend everything everyone would want you to. You can not be everything to everyone, only God can do that. Who does He say you are? To use Holley’s term boisterous Peter or gentle John? I lean toward John, but I have my moments. I don’t like loud or unruly, I can see Jesus pushing him aside as played by Bruce Marciano and telling him what was what. The devil was coming after Peter already. God tells Him the truth, and instantly, Peter is attempting to talk him out of it, the very thing God had ordained.

I used to think that it was the devil who, had he known, would not have crucified the Lord of glory.  1 Corinthians 2:8 is obviously referring to actual rulers, who would have preferred Christianity not spring up and challenge them as opposed to spiritual rulers, however, would they have done it? I don’t think the devil could have resisted in his pride and arrogance thinking he could defeat Jesus as human being or own his turf.

But what about us? As believers and sisters in Christ, social butterflies or social media challenged, movers and shakers or more at home with salt and pepper shakers, let’s all ask the Holy Spirit to guide us into God’s truth of who He meant us not be, not who I think you should be or your neighbor or even friend or perhaps, even televangelist. Understanding and wise women are excellent counselors, but I mentioned to someone else just this week that even well meaning people in ministry can be human and label or push someone to far, too soon. They might even make you over or allow personal prejudices to cloud their judgement.

I am guilty of this, I am not a certified counselor, but I am human. And sometimes we want something for someone else that they don’t see yet. My mother and I have bought people clothes, suggested haircuts or styles and make up, recommended teaching, taught Bible study, encouraged singers, worked with children. I encouraged them but prayed for them. And looking back today, I know there is fruit, but I missed some chances to help and sometimes I was pushy, like I said, I’m human. I try to be like Jesus want me to be but I’m human, we all are. I guess I’m both introvert and extrovert, social butterfly and stay at home.

The Holy Spirit is the best counselor, He is never wrong. For He looks to God’s heart for answers, He does not look at size, weight or color but at the heart that beats for Him, and He knows when you need to be in a cocoon,wrapped in His love, like in a mother’s womb, safe and sheltered or when to break out and take wing and only He can let us little caterpillars work our way through life and if the need arises, repeat the process. I like the quote about how just when the caterpillar thought her life was over, she became a beautiful butterfly. Have a blessed day fellow butterflies! Rebecca Jones 1 Corinthians 5:17

 flying butterfliesflying butterflies

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Rebecca – Such good truth here and I whole-heartedly agree – the Holy Spirit is the best and most wise counselor – He is never wrong and if you allow Him, He will lead you, direct you and give you peace, strength, and a whole lot more for the journey. We are neighbors over at Holly’s today at #CoffeeForYourHeart

    Like

Leave a Reply

