Consider the Lilies

9ad67d49859f6ef907e7f2465262eec5

Consider how the lilies of the field grow: They do not labor or spin.  Matthew 6:28

As the holiday weekend approaches, I’m reminded of how many lilies I see at this time of year. I’m also reminded of this verse about how the lilies to not toil or spin and obviously do not worry. God takes care of them. The Lord also reminded me of something about myself, that I try way too hard. If He gives you a gift, you don’t have to work for it just thank Him.

He’s not telling us not to work of course, but that He does not want us struggling. Like the flowers of the field we can sway in the gentle breeze of His Holy Spirit.  We can wave at Him with hands and palms of praise, lifted up to the Son, like the lilies do to the sun, and expect Him to supply our needs according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus, who poured Himself out on the cross for us. So He has the authority to tell us not to worry. Solomon was rich, but not arrayed like this.

Now, the greater one than Solomon had arrived on the scene, sharing His Father, His Word, His love and eternal life with us. He has every right to tell us not to worry, especially after what He went through for us. We put Him through it, and that should bring us to repentance and obedience.

Don’t  worry, don’t be afraid, don’t let anyone take your joy. Love one another, my peace I leave you. Jesus has every right to tell us what to do as believer. But are we doing it? I, for one am working on it.  I do my best not to worry, I still feel it try to squirm its way in, but I am so familiar with His Word, I can’t ignore Jesus.

I need be quiet and still before Him. He is greater than Solomon or anyone else. And HE chose to die for me! HE chose to love me! So I pray for you and I this spring to be as glorious as the lilies who don’t work hard to be beautiful, they just are. They depend on Jesus. I know I do too! Be blessed!

Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

