His Royal Heart

8118dc9c6c2425881d61e9af2ed867eb

His royal heart was broken for me,

When He died upon that cross.

His pain, suffering, He overcame.

Yet I grieved for Him, my loss.

But He wanted me to accept His royal heart.

His love saved my soul.

Though undaunted I struggled on,

I was not completely whole.

He never wanted my heart to break,

He wanted it to be free.

I had to learn to depend completely on Him.

I was still depending on me.

I carried the image of a broken Jesus,

Not the one resurrected and sure.

Now that I have opened my heart to Him,

I feel His love so pure.

I am the daughter of a King,

He has a royal heart.

I will praise Him, not weep.

And I have a loyal heart,

I say a prayer and sleep.

Goodnight, Jesus,

Keep me in your care.

Resting in your love,

Sleeping, safely there.

Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

