Lord, I Give You My Heart

9845c974cd66d020f199a927aa2f3c79

Teach me to guard my heart,

For from it all issues flow.

But, better for me, still, Lord.

Guard it for me , I know you will.

Hearts are fragile, Lord.

I have let it break.

But in your tender care it’s safe.

You make no mistake!

Hold it in the palm of your hand,

When I am weak, you understand.

I cannot do anything alone, but love you.

It was your only command.

So when it quivers or quakes,

You hold me, making no mistakes.

So when it shivers or shakes,

You hold me, making no mistakes.

When  I tried to hold it,

It was broken and shattered.

But you loved me more,

Than I was trying to love you.

And that’s what truly mattered,

You did it Lord, because you promised to.

You drew me close to you,

To guard my heart, it’s true.

You did for me what I could not do….

And I always will love you!

Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

