A Servant’s Heart

ee4edd71b1e348d02c0779c8e4710b98

In my prayer time this morning, the Lord spoke these words to my spirit. a servant’s heart.  I remembered a song I used to sing from a CD I had years ago, Make Me A Servant, I suppose He did.  My mother has always been the better caregiver, but I think He’s pleased with me, I never saw myself like He sees me, He really does look at you through the blood of Jesus.  There will be those who disagree, but I know from personal experience. The New Year is here, don’t waste time allowing the enemy to remind you of things Jesus forgave you of years ago. Don’t take the grace message lightly and don’t take advantage of it either, He did say go and sin no more.  We may all make mistakes, but we are comfortable in repenting quickly and moving on.

I guess I have always tried to make things nice for people, whatever the occasion, I remember a line from one of my favorite old movies, The Bishop’s Wife, with Cary Grant and Loretta Young, 1947, Dudley, the angel, tells Julia that there are people who know how to make heaven on earth, and she is one of them.

I suppose I’ve always wanted to be one of them, too. I wanted to remember birthdays, remember to phone people in the days before e-mail.  And there are still those I have to call.  I’ve talked children into going to school who didn’t want to go, comforted them when their parents argued.  I’ve tried to help all sorts of people, I am just learning how to give up on it, there are some people I will have to let God deal with.

If it was fun for me to live they way I did, admittedly, sometimes it was a kind of daydream, I thought everyone would understand, but they didn’t and still don’t.  I like the idea of living in a heaven on earth, I can make it for myself in spite of others with Jesus help. Maybe, everyone doesn’t understand or want that. Maybe, they don’t have a servant’s heart.

Rebecca Jones

Leave a Reply

