WatchingYour Mouth

a9e8f497a68d8a5e92346a7f3368c253

Like the girl in picture and know it all teenagers, I can hear the eyes rolling.  But we really are supposed to watch our mouths.  Let’s look at Ephesians 4:29, God’s Word Translation.

Don’t say anything that would hurt another person. Instead, speak only what is good so that you can give help wherever it is needed. That way, what you say will help those who hear you.

If you think I’m one of the people who will beat you up about every word or be picky, you’re wrong. The people who do that are not really speaking  for God. You are supposed to tell people the right thing in love and let it go at that. You can’t speak for them. You would not believe some of the things I’ve heard ministers say. Ouch, that stung!!! And that wasn’t Jesus saying, I want you to obey me in this, in a firm but still voice in your heart. These things were down right mean.  Speak the truth in love.

People will receive as He prepares their hearts to.  He’s God, we’re not, even though He wants us to follow Him.  And if people do not receive, let that go. Shake the dust off your feet, dust is what the devil crawls around in.  And don’t cast your pearls before swine, I know people who would not even appreciate my poetry. They’ve never read it.  It’s on my blog for the Lord’s glory.  If you enjoy it, thank you, any talent I have is from Him and it’s glory.

But let’s talk about watching our mouths.  Foul language is not pretty.  Complaining is not good conversation.  But then there are people who might perceive any thing you say as a complaint.  I have listened to bratty children persist until they get their way, they learn early.  There are people who enjoy annoying you, who will bait you like a fish.  It’s better not to respond.  This is part of the accuser of the brethren, that i never understood.

Our feet might ache, they’re not really killing us.  We may be cold, but we’re not freezing to death.  You’re a real pain! Really? Sure, there are toxic people who can make you sick.  My mother and I just had a discussion about Proverbs 18:21, I just realized its says death and life, not life and death, are in the power of the tongue.

Isn’t that strange? Was I hearing it wrong? Remembering wrong? Quoting it wrong? Maybe, but I think I just really realized that death is what most people are speaking over themselves without even knowing it. The foul language, the arguing,the gossip.  Whether you are charismatic or not, it pays to take note of our words.  They are wonderful, beautiful and powerful and can be used for good or evil, to hurt or to heal, to encourage or disparage, to build up or tear down, to share faith, hope, love or to destroy a dream.  Don’t think so? Have you ever seen a suicide from bullying,  abused women or children, people who have lost faith?

Let what you say be simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything more than this comes from evil.  Jesus Matthew 5:37 You don’t have to defend yourself God will, you don’t have show up for every argument, listen to every gossip.  My mother, will often say…Hmmmmphh.  That’s it, she’s not getting into it. And even though I’m grown up, I get the look.  It means, hush now!  She knows  when I’m about to explain something to someone who doesn’t get it.  The most recent thing I heard is really death, discussing who will be at a funeral?  Who cares? No one has died.

Let’s let Jesus words be what we speak…life. Rebecca Jones

 

http://biblehub.com/ephesians/4-29.htm

http://biblehub.com/proverbs/18-21.htm

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

