With Peace And Quiet Comes Rest

f56ede8c123e374dce80a3613e24492b

Solitude and stillness create an atmosphere for the Spirit of God to speak to you. Jesus often sought solitude to be strengthened by the Holy Spirit, He gave out so much, He still does, take Him out of His solitude, sitting on the throne and let Him get close to you in peace and quiet. He loves you and lives to love you.

I have been learning about the “rest of faith “, that we are to labor for, in Hebrews. So, I have been encouraging my readers to do the same.  I have had to slow down and rethink a lot. I did not give in to the hustle and bustle of the holidays.  Thanksgiving was a small family gathering that was over quickly, thanks to preparation in advance, so while everyone headed for the television or home, with some banana pudding, I was back on Pinterest and blogging some encouraging words to everyone who was just as overwhelmed and tired as I was.

And it is rest, rest to read, rest to share, to know your not alone in the mentality of planning the ideal dinner, the home and hearth and fireplace, the proper, well mannered children, sitting at your feet with a book instead of a phone, or screaming about the number of presents.  I really wouldn’t expect the dog to fetch our slippers, and I’m glad I don’t have a pipe smoking husband, but you get the picture.  We all have great expectations and fall short. We are taught to be self conscious of that. Romans 3:23, but not so much about Romans 8:1, that there is no condemnation toward us.  Jesus is not condemning us, we should stop condemning ourselves.

There is peace over my house now, there is storm outside, noise from the den, but the sweet peace of the Lord is present as I write.  I truly desire to help women learn as I have, that Jesus is in this life with us, in us, and walks beside me and wants to be included in our lives.  He can make a message out of a mess.  He can make anything beautiful in its time.  While we have plans, He has better ones.  And His expectations are even higher, that we overcome, by the word of our testimony and His precious blood.

That’s why it is important for women, as mothers, wives, caregivers, to let the Lord care for us. We must seek His peace, His sensitivity, His heart and His rest.  Then we will fall into the arms of His loving grace, and be able to speak grace and peace into our homes and lives and the lives of others. Oh, how He loves us. And it doesn’t matter if there are dishes in the sink, laundry is piled high.  I need to mop muddy tracks again, the roof is leaking and there’s quagmire outside, I have worked to have His rest, and peace and joy follow, keep it, cling to it, ask Him to help guard your heart and mouth.

Nothing matters but His love, and that is tangible, as we rest.  If we are trying to fix everything, we’re not letting Him help us.  And I even managed to get into a couple of family photographs this year instead of taking them, and I think God was pleased with me, yes, I was still a little hyped, it wasn’t perfect, but He was pleased with me in my green sweater and golden cross, and my smile.  I am a Jesus girl, and I want to hear Him say, well done, I hope He was saying that’s my girl.  I’m determined to draw people into my peace instead of being drawing into their chaos, fixing my eyes on Jesus, who is the author and the finisher of my faith.  I hope this blesses you today.

Let’s rest in 2016, instead of resolutions, I am encouraging others to focus on Jesus and one word a day.  The word for January 1st, cherish.  ( Wisdom ) Cherish her, and she will exalt you; if you embrace her, she will honor you Proverbs 4:8

3 thoughts on “With Peace And Quiet Comes Rest

  1. I deliberately tried to make this a quieter year. Fewer decorations. Less company. It was great!
    Well written. I wish I could follow you but there is nothing on your site that leads to that option. Consider it. Blessings to you and yours!

    Marie

    Like

Leave a Reply

